1986 Nuclear Proliferation Agreement

8 septembre 2021

After the fall of the Soviet Union, three of its former territories — Belarus, Kazakhstan and Ukraine — were kept in possession of nuclear weapons. An international agreement between the three former regions and Russia required that all nuclear weapons inside the zones be either destroyed or transferred to Russia for destruction. The three former Soviet republics have also agreed to accede to the Non-Proliferation Treaty as « non-nuclear » countries and are, along with South Africa, the only countries to abandon their nuclear arsenals. Virtually all speakers noted with satisfaction that the number of States parties had increased considerably since 1975. At the same time, several parties affirmed that the general lack of compliance with the treaty had a negative impact on its implementation and stressed that a number of non-parties operated major nuclear facilities.